Dr. Finlay's Casebook


Network: BBC One (United Kingdom)
Premiered: 16.August.1962
Status: Ended

Dr. Finlay's Casebook is a television series that was broadcast on the BBC from 1962 until 1971.

Based on A. J. Cronin's novella entitled Country Doctor, the storylines centred on a general medical practice in the fictional Scottish town of Tannochbrae during the late 1920s.

The main characters were Dr. Finlay, the junior partner in the practice, played by Bill Simpson, Dr. Cameron, the craggy senior partner, played by Andrew Cruickshank and Janet, their unflappable housekeeper and receptionist at Arden House, played by Barbara Mullen. Other recurrent characters included Dr. Snoddie, Finlay's crusty detractor and Janet's admirer, played by Eric Woodburn and gossipy Mistress Niven (the district nurse), played by Effie Morrison.

Dr. Angus Cameron - Andrew Cruickshank
Mrs. Ballantyne - Helena Gloag
Janet MacPherson - Barbara Mullen
Lewis Gilbride - Leonard Maguire
Dr. Alexander Snoddie - Eric Woodburn
Andrew McGregor - Calum Mill
Mistress Niven - Effie Morrison
Sgt. Gilbey - Neil Wilson
Constable Dickie - David Macmillan
Matron - Molly Urquhart
Sister - Delia Paton
Galbraith - Bryden Murdoch
Mr. Gibson - Robert James
Mrs. Rae - Marigold Sharman
Dr. Alan Finlay - Bill Simpson
'Hooky' Buchanan - James Copeland

[amazonjs asin=B00B5H4YU4 locale="UK"]