The Quatermass Experiment


Network: BBC One (United Kingdom)
Premiered: 18.July.1953
Status: Ended

The Quatermass Experiment is a British science-fiction serial broadcast by BBC Television during the summer of 1953 and re-staged by BBC Four in 2005.

Set in the near future against the background of a British space programme, it tells the story of the first manned flight into space, supervised by Professor Bernard Quatermass of the British Experimental Rocket Group. When the spaceship that carried the first successful crew returns to Earth, two of the three astronauts are missing, and the third is behaving strangely. It becomes apparent that an alien presence entered the ship during its flight, and Quatermass and his associates must prevent the alien from destroying the world.

Professor Bernard Quatermass - Reginald Tate
Judith Carroon - Isabel Dean
John Paterson - Hugh Kelly
James Fullalove - Paul Whitsun-Jones
Victor Carroon - Duncan Lamont
Dr. Gordon Briscoe - John Glen
Detective-Inspector Lomax - Ian Colin
Detective-Sergeant Best - Frank Hawkins