Fortunes of War


Network: BBC One (United Kingdom)
Premiered: 11.October.1987
Status: Ended

British seven part mini series based on the book by Olivia Manning.

As the second world war breaks out in 1939, Guy and Harriet Pringle are living in Bucharest, the capital of Romania. As the Germans advance, they have to escape, first to Greece and then on to Egypt - but the war keeps on following them.

Dobson - Charles Kay
Castlebar - Robert Stephens
Lord Pinkrose - Alan Bennett
Mortimer - Anthony Calf
Edwina Little - Diana Hardcastle
Simon Boulderstone - Rupert Graves
Dubedat - Mark Drewry
Sasha Drucker - Harry Burton
Inchcape - James Villiers
Harriet Pringle - Emma Thompson
Guy Pringle - Kenneth Branagh
Aidan Pratt - Greg Hicks
Prince Yakimov - Ronald Pickup
Professor Gracey - Clifford Rose