The Hollow Crown


Network: BBC Two (United Kingdom)
Premiered: 30.June.2012
Status: Ended

The Hollow Crown brings together four filmed adaptations of Shakespeare's History Plays - Richard II, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, and Henry V. Starting in the year 1399, this continuous story of monarchy follows events during sixteen years of dynastic and political power play. Kings, with their families and followers, are threatened by rebellion and conflict. The story takes us from the Royal Court at Westminster to battlefields in England and France. These rich films are woven with the finest of Shakespeare's poetry and are filmed in the architecture and landscape of the period.

Richard II - Ben Whishaw
Queen Isabella - Clémence Poésy
Earl of Northumberland - David Morrissey
Duke of York - David Suchet
Sir Piers of Exton - Finbar Lynch
Lady in Waiting to the Queen - Isabella Laughland
Thomas Mowbray - James Purefoy
Henry IV - Jeremy Irons
Duchess of York - Lindsay Duncan
Bishop of Carlisle - Lucian Msamati
John of Gaunt - Patrick Stewart
Abbot of Westminster - Richard Bremmer
Henry Bolingbroke - Rory Kinnear
Falstaff - Simon Russell Beale
Prince Hal a.k.a. Henry V - Tom Hiddleston
Duke of Aumerle - Tom Hughes