Ensemble Cast Announced For Bäckström

An ensemble cast has been announced ahead of the Bäckström series premiere next month on C More, with Agnes Lindström Bolmgren to play Evert Bäckström’s colleague Ankan Carlsson in an adaptation of the novel Can You Die Twice? and partly upon He Who Kills The Dragon by Swedish author and criminologist Leif GW Persson.

Homicide detective Evert Bäckström (Kjell Bergqvist) has solved 99 percent of all the cases he has taken on, but when a skull pierced with bullet holes is found on an uninhabited island in the archipelago, he is faced with a more troubling mystery than even he could have imagined.

Agnes Lindström Bolmgren said: “Getting to play the commissioner has been a dream since I was a girl, so it felt great to discover my inner cop surrounded by such a wonderful team… To interpret a character from such a well-known book by none other than Leif GW Persson is a little scary but also very inspiring. I hope people like my version of Ankan.”

The cast is rounded out by Helen Sjöholm who plays PR genius Tina alongside Livia Millhagen, Linus Wahlgren, Jens Hultén, Johan Widerberg, Pekka Strang, Filip Berg, Peshang Rad, Anders Mossling, Rolf Lydahl, Sandra Yi Sencindiver and Malgorzata Pieczynska.

Bäckström airs in six parts, with its premiere 23rd March on C More followed by a run on TV4 beginning 7th April.