Bodil Award Nominees Revealed For 2020

The Danish Film Critics Association has announced its nominees for the 73rd Bodil Awards (Bodilprisen), which celebrates the best in Danish and international film.

Four films are tied with four nominations, and three of these are in contention for Best Film: Before The Frost, Cutterhead, and Queen Of Hearts. This category is rounded out by Out Of Tune and Uncle.

However, the big news this year is that Trine Dyrholm has the opportunity to extend her own Bodil record of six wins as Queen Of Hearts earns her a 12th nomination. It will be a return grudge match against last year’s Best Actress, Victoria Carmen Sonne, who is nominated for Neon Heart.

Meanwhile, in the category of Best Actor, Jesper Christensen is hoping to take home a fifth Bodil for his role in Before The Frost. Also of note are Jacob Lohmann (Out Of Tune), who was nominated for Best Supporting Actor last year, and Esben Smed (Daniel) who is competing for his second Bodil nomination.

The winners will be announced during a gala awards ceremony hosted by actor Jesper Groth (New Nurses) on Saturday 29th February at the Folketeatret in Copenhagen.

Groth said: “Denmark is a proud, old film nation, so I hope that I can – with a few aces up my sleeve – help people to think about what they are part of and to win or lose with that in mind.”


Cutterhead directed by Rasmus Kloster Bro
Out Of Tune | De frivillige directed by Frederikke Aspöck
Queen Of Hearts | Dronningen directed by May el-Toukhy
Before The Frost | Før frosten directed by Michael Noer
Uncle | Onkel directed by Frelle Petersen


Christine Sønderris for Cutterhead
Jette Søndergaard for Onkel
Lisa Carlehed for Til vi falder
Trine Dyrholm for Dronningen
Victoria Carmen Sonne for Usynligt hjerte


Esben Smed for Ser du månen, Daniel
Jacob Lohmann for De frivillige
Jesper Christensen for Før frosten
Mohammad Ismail Mohammed for Danmarks sønner
Zaki Youssef for Danmarks sønner


Asil Mohamad Habib for Danmarks sønner
Christiane Gjellerup Koch for Ser du månen, Daniel
Clara Rosager for Før frosten
Sofie Torp for Ser du månen, Daniel
Tuva Novotny for Selvmordsturisten


Anders Matthesen for De frivillige
Gustav Lindh for Dronningen
Kresimir Mikic for Cutterhead
Magnus Krepper for Dronningen
Peter H. Tygesen for Onkel


Jesper Fink, screenwriter (Før frosten)
Louise McLaughlin, cinematographer (Harpiks)
Rasmus Kloster Bridge, director (Cutterhead)
Sofie Torp, actor (Ser du månen, Daniel)
Ulaa Salim, director (Danmarks sønner)