Maniac And Trapped Nominated For Nymphe d’Or

Norwegian comedy Maniac and Icelandic crime drama Trapped (Ófærð) have cemented their credentials with nominations for the Nymphe d’Or at the 56th Festival de Télévision in Monte-Carlo (12-16 June 2016) in both their respective genres plus Best Actor categories.

The Nymphe d’Or (Golden Nymph) is recognized as one of the most prestigious awards in the world of international television production and honours the best programmes and television actors. The award is a copy of the Nymphe de Salmacis created by Monaco sculptor François Joseph Bosio, who was sculptor for King Louis XVIII, and the original of which is in the Louvre Museum in Paris.

Maniac follows the adventures of Espen and his friend Håkon, who exists only in Espen’s head. They live quite happily together until psychologist Mina arrives on the scene to treat Espen’s illness. A remake of the series was recently given a ten episode straight-to-series order by Netflix, starring Jonas Hill and Emma Stone.

In the category of Best Comedy, Maniac will compete against Ash Vs Evil Dead, Better Caul Saul, Catastrophe, Cradle To Grave and Plan B. In Best Actor, Espen P.A. Lervaag is against Bob Odenkirk, Bruce Campbell, and Peter Kay. For Best Actress, Ingeborg Sundrehagen Raustøl takes on Sharon Horgan and Lucy Lawless.

Trapped is set in a small Icelandic town where a mutilated body is found in the bay shortly after a Danish ferry comes into port. Then, when a blizzard makes the snowbound town inaccessible to outsiders it dawns upon the locals that a killer walks amongst them. It is the most expensive Icelandic drama ever made, with a budget of around $7.5m, and has been acquired by The Weinstein Company for distribution in the US.

For Best Drama, Trapped faces stiff competition from Code Black, Deutschland 83, Poldark, River, and The Man In The High Castle. Olafur Darri Olafsson is nominated for Best Actor along with Jonas Nay, Aidan Turner and Stellan Skarsgård.

The Nymphe d’Or awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 16th June 2016.