Nordisk Film Announces Annual Isbjørnen Awards

Nordisk Film has announced that its three major honours, the Nordisk Film Prize, the Ove Sprogøe Prize and the Erik Balling Award, will be brought together in a new annual gala evening, to be called Isbjørnen.

On November 9th, the first Isbjørnen awards ceremony will be hosted by Danish actress Birgitte Hjort Sørensen (Borgen), with live music provided by award-winning singer Soleima.

The Nordisk Film Prize plus DKK 111,000 will go to a new Danish talent who has made extraordinary efforts either behind or in front of the camera, and serves as an inspiration for others. Director May el-Toukhy (Long Story Short) won in 2016.

As a tribute to one of Denmark’s most popular actors, the Ove Sprogøe Prize and DKK 30,000 is presented to a Danish actor or actress who has achieved something notable in the preceding year, whether it be on television, film or in theatres. Johanne Louise Schmidt (A Conspiracy Of Faith) won in 2016.

Finally, the Erik Balling Award of DKK 50,000 goes to someone who has created a work that has particularly caught the public’s attention and interest. Director Ask Hasselbalch (Antboy) won in 2016.