Record Nine Bodil Nominations For Persona Non Grata

The Danish Film Critics Association has announced its nominees for the 75th Bodil Awards (Bodilprisen) where Persona Non Grata (Hvor kragerne vender) has set a record with nine nominations across five categories.

Persona Non Grata follows Laura who has distanced herself from her family in the countryside to live an artistic bohemian life as a writer in Copenhagen. She has just published a book about her miserable youth, where she writes about her former bully Catrine, but discovers that this same woman is soon to marry her brother and become part of the family.

It is nominated for Best Film, Best Actress (Rosalinde Mynster), Best Supporting Actress (Anne Sofie Wanstrup and Bodil Jørgensen), Best Supporting Actor (Jesper Groth and Thomas Hwan) and the Biografklub Danmark Talentprisen (Anne Sofie Wanstrup, Sara Isabella Jønsson and Lisa Jespersen) which recognises new and emerging talent.

Meanwhile, Trine Dyrholm will hope to extend her own Bodil record of seven wins, having earned her 14th Bodil nomination for the title role in Margrete: Queen of the North (Margrete Den Første) about the celebrated fifteenth century monarch who brought Denmark, Norway and Sweden together in peace as the Kalmar Union.

The 2022 Bodil Awards will be presented on 19th March in a gala cermony presented by singer Annika Aakjær at Folketeatret in Copenhagen.

Here are the nominees…

Persona Non Grata (Hvor kragerne vender)
Margrete: Queen of the North (Margrete Den Første)
A Taste of Hunger (Smagen af sult)
Checkered Ninja 2 (Ternet Ninja 2)
The Venus Effect (Venuseffekten)

Alex Høgh Andersen for The Shadow in My Eye (Skyggen i mit øje)
Anders Matthesen for Checkered Ninja 2
Bertram Bisgaard for The Shadow in My Eye
Nikolaj Coster-Waldau for A Taste of Hunger
Simon Bennebjerg for The Pact (Pagten)

Jesper Groth for Persona Non Grata
Lars Mikkelsen for The Venus Effect
Morten Hee Andersen for Margrete: Queen of the North
Søren Malling for Margrete: Queen of the North
Thomas Hwan for Persona Non Grata

Birthe Neumann for The Pact
Johanne Milland for The Venus Effect
Katrine Greis-Rosenthal for A Taste of Hunger
Rosalinde Mynster for Persona Non Grata
Trine Dyrholm for Margrete: Queen of the North

Anne Sofie Wanstrup for Persona Non Grata
Asta August for The Pact
Bodil Jørgensen for Persona Non Grata
Ester Birch for The Shadow in My Eye
Sofie Gråbøl for The Venus Effect

Anne Sofie Wanstrup, actress, for Persona Non Grata & The Venus Effect
Johanne Milland, actor, for The Venus Effect
Jesper Dalgaard, documentary director, for Kandis for livet
Lisa Jespersen, director, for Persona Non Grata
Sara Isabella Jønsson, scriptwriter, for Persona Non Grata and Miss Osaka