Ruben Östlund & Joachim Trier To Join Academy

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which organises the Oscars, has invited a record 928 new members to join the organisation as it continues to address the historical dominance of ageing white men.

People of colour (38 percent) and women (49 percent) are an important part of this year’s invitation list, but increased representation of international talent from both in front of and behind the camera also play a role in the Academy’s drive towards diversity.

Invited from Norway are director Joachim Trier (Thelma), screenwriter Eskil Vogt (Louder Than Bombs) and sound engineer Christian Schaanning (12th Man), alongside Danish documentary film maker Sigrid Dyekjær.

Sweden is represented by director Ruben Östlund (The Square), screenwriter / director Roy Andersson (A Pigeon Sat On A Branch) and cinematographer Fredrik Wenzel (Force Majeure).

Meanwhile, earlier this month, Danish director Susanne Bier (After The Wedding) was elected governor of the Directors Branch of the Academy.