Ruben Östlund Joins Beijing Film Festival Jury

Oscar nominated director Ruben Östlund (The Square) has been invited to join an international jury for the Tiantan Awards, the main competition of the 8th Beijing International Film Festival (15 – 22 April).

This year’s nominees have yet to be announced, but in 2017 the Tiantan Awards received 424 entries from 59 countries and regions across six continents, comprising 274 international films and 150 domestic films with rich and diverse subjects that mirror the festival’s core values of Beauty In Variety and Harmony In Diversity.

Östlund joins Chinese Actor Duan Yihong (The Dead End), Polish composer Jan A.P. Kaczmarek (Finding Neverland), Romanian director Călin Peter Netzer (Child’s Pose), Taiwanese actress Shu Q (The Assassin) and US director Rob Cohen (The Fast & The Furious) in a jury presided over by Hong Kong director Wong Kar-Wai (The Grandmaster),

The 2018 Tiantan Awards will be presented on 22nd April during the festival’s closing ceremony at the Beijing Yanqi Lake International Convention & Exhibition Centre.