Susanne Bier Elected As Academy Governor

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that Susanne Bier (After The Wedding) has been elected as one of the governors of its Directors Branch.

The Board of Governors consists of 54 members who oversee the Academy, its strategy and the Oscars, with 17 branches each represented by three governors who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms.

Susanne Bier joins Steven Spielberg (Ready Player One) and Kimberly Peirce (Boys Don’t Cry), having won the seat vacated by Michael Mann who did not seek re-election, and will assume her new role on 1st July.

The number of women represented on the board overall stands at 21, as it was last year. However, Jennifer Todd tied against Jason Blum for the Producers Branch, so this number may change if Todd wins the re-run next week.

Bier’s latest project, post-apocalyptic thriller Bird Box, starring Sandra Bullock (Speed), John Malkovich (Dangerous Liaisons) and Sarah Paulson (American Horror Story) is currently in post production and will air on Netflix.