The Square Shortlisted For Foreign Language Oscar

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that Ruben Östlund’s The Square is among the nine films to have been shortlisted from a record 92 submissions for Best Foreign Language Film at the 90th Academy Awards.

The shortlisted films will be screened in theatres to Academy members in New York, London, Los Angeles and San Francisco from 12th – 14th January, and international members outside of the UK will be invited to stream them. The final five nominees will then be announced on 23rd January,

The Oscar awards ceremony will take place on 4th March 2018 at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood 6:30pm ET / 3:30pm PT, and is televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

The nine shortlisted films for the 90th Academy Awards are:

A Fantastic Woman, by Sebastián Lelio (Chile)
In the Fade, by Fatih Akin (Germany)
On Body and Soul, by Ildikó Enyedi (Hungary)
Foxtrot, by Samuel Maoz (Israel)
The Insult, by Ziad Doueiri (Lebanon)
Loveless, by Andrey Zvyagintsev (Russia)
Félicité, by Alain Gomis (Senegal)
The Wound, by John Trengove (South Africa)
The Square, by Ruben Östlund (Sweden)