The Square Takes Early Win At European Film Awards

Josefin Åsberg is amongst the first winners to be announced for the 30th European Film Awards in December. The European Film Academy has honoured her work on Ruben Östlund’s The Square with the award of European Production Designer 2017.

A special jury convened in Berlin on Tuesday and, based on the EFA Selection list and additional film entries, decided on the winners in the categories of Cinematography, Editing, Production Design, Costume Design, Hair & Make-up, Composer and Sound Design.

The jury said in their deliberation: “With great artistic sensibility, the production design in The Square elevates the film by creating a world at the edge to the surreal. In this way the scenography is able to integrate and interact with the story without ever dominating over it. This is the great artistic quality of Josefin Åsberg.”

This year’s European Film Awards will also see Ruben Östlund and Aki Kaurismäki go head to head for Best Film and Best Director. Over 3,000 EFA members will vote for the winners, which will be revealed during a gala presentation on Saturday 9th December in Berlin.