Trine Dyrholm Eyes Eighth Bodil Award

The Danish Film Critics Association has announced its nominees for the 74th Bodil Awards (Bodilprisen), which celebrates outstanding artistic achievements in Danish film.

Leading with five nods is Thomas Vinterberg’s Oscar contender Another Round about four high school teachers who believe their lives would be better if constantly inebriated. Mads Mikkelsen receives his seventh Bodil nomination for Best Actor while Lars Ranthe, Magnus Millang and Thomas Bo Larsen are all up for Best Supporting Actor.

Meanwhile, Trine Dyrholm’s thirteenth Bodil nomination comes for Best Actress in Erna At War, about a woman disguises herself as a man to join the army to protect her son in the First World War, giving her the opportunity to break her own record of seven wins at the Bodil Awards.

Also of note is Sidse Babett Knudsen who is nominated twice for Best Supporting Actress for her roles in The Exception, a thriller about a small NGO in Copenhagen that specialises in genocide, and Wildland, about a girl who moves in with her criminal aunt and cousins after her mother’s death.

The 74th Bodil Awards will be presented during a gala ceremony hosted by actress and musician Emma Sehested Høeg at the Folketeatret in Copenhagen on 8th May 2021. Here are the nominees…

Another Round, directed by Thomas Vinterberg
A Perfectly Normal Family | En helt almindelig familie, directed by Malou Reymann
Riders Of Justice | Retfærdighedens ryttere, directed by Anders Thomas Jensen
Shorta, directed by Anders Ølholm & Frederik Louis Hviid
The Good Traitor | Vores mand i Amerika, directed by Christina Rosendahl

Jacob Lohmann (Shorta)
Mads Mikkelsen (Another Round)
Mikkel Boe Følsgaard (A Perfectly Normal Family)
Simon Sears (Shorta)
Ulrich Thomsen (The Good Traitor)

Amanda Collin (The Exception)
Danica Curcic (The Exception)
Kaya Toft Loholt (A Perfectly Normal Family)
Sandra Guldberg Kampp (Wildland)
Trine Dyrholm (Erna at War)

Lars Brygmann (Riders of Justice)
Lars Ranthe (Another Round)
Magnus Millang (Another Round)
Nikolaj Lie Kaas (Riders of Justice)
Thomas Bo Larsen (Another Round)

Andrea Heick Gadeberg (Riders of Justice)
Karen-Lise Mynster (The Butterfly Swing)
Lene Maria Christensen (The Exception)
Sidse Babett Knudsen (Wildland)
Sidse Babett Knudsen (The Exception)