Viva Hate Picks Up Prestigious Prix Europa

Viva Hate has been awarded the Prix Europa 2015 for Best European TV Fiction Serial, with a special commendation handed to The Saboteurs (Kampen Om Tungtvannet). The awards ceremony took place last night at the Berlin-Brandenburg Broadcasting House in Berlin.

Peter Birro’s comedy drama Viva Hate takes place in Gothenburg in 1991 and is about music and young, desperate love. It is a colorful story about four young guys who play in a band and dream of making it big.

The series is a co-production between SVT, Anagram and Film i Vast, directed by Jens Lien and produced by Martin Persson and Marcos Hellberg. In the lead roles are Tom Ljungman, Anna Åström, Lena Endre and Peter Andersson.

In awarding the prize, the jury said: “The audience will melt into the skin of the protagonists, we breathe together with them in pure delight. The series gives us a warmhearted comedy with firework-like passion and rhythm. The magnificent script goes forward with an extraordinary power… The protagonist Daniel refuses to compromise – it’s all or nothing in the fight to succeed as a punk band in Gothenburg in 1991. The series begins as an earthquake and just continues from there.”

Peter Andersson and Lena Endre won Best Actor and Best Actress respectively at this year’s Kristallen for their roles in Viva Hate.