Winter Brothers Wins Best Film At Bodil Awards

In a ceremony hosted by satirical trio PLATT-FORM (Mille Lehfeldt, Laus Høybye & Jakob Fauerby) at the People’s Theatre in Nørregade on Saturday, the Danish Film Critics Association announced the winners of the 71st Bodil Awards (Bodilprisen).

Despite nominations in several categories for the front runners, no single film dominated the night, but Hlynur Pálmason’s debut feature Winter Brothers (Vinterbrødre) came out on top with Best Film, to complement its recent nine wins at the Robert Awards and the Dreyer Award for outstanding artistic achievement.

The film follows two brothers as they work in a limestone factory through a harsh winter, during which they are swept into a violent feud that erupts between them and another family.

The jury said in their deliberation: “Rarely has a debut film taken our breath away, as Winter Brothers did last year. Hlynur Pálmason has made a film that insists on exploring the potential of the film industry as an art form, which puts the audience’s brain, eyes and ears on glorious overtime.”

Darkland (Fenar Ahmad)
Team Hurricane (Annika Berg)
While We Live (Mehdi Avaz)
Winter Brothers (Hlynur Palmason)
A Horrible Woman (Christian Tafdrup)

Frederikke Dahl Hansen (Danmark)
Trine Dyrholm (You Disappear)
Amanda Collin (A Horrible Woman)
Det unge ensemble i Team Hurricane (Team Hurricane)
Danica Curcic (Darling)

Dar Salim (Darkland)
Elliott Crosset Hove (Winter Brothers)
Dejan Cukic (Fantasten)
Sebastian Jessen (While We Live)
Mikkel Boe Følsgaard (Pound For Pound)

Charlotte Munck (While We Live)
Stine Fischer Christensen (Darkland)
Lene Maria Christensen (Pound For Pound)
Lisa Nilsson (Word Of God)
Julie Christiansen (While We Live)

Søren Malling (Pound For Pound)
Oscar Dyekjær Giese (Fantasten)
Simon Sears (Winter Brothers)
Dulfi Al-Jabouri (Darkland)
Ali Sivandi (Darkland)

En fremmed flytter ind (Nicole N. Horanyi)
Vold – i kærlighedens navn (Christina Rosendahl)
De sidste mænd i Aleppo (Feras Fayyad)
Venus – Let’s Talk About Sex (Lea Glob & Mette Carla Albrechtsen)
Al magt til folket (Lise Birk Pedersen)